Moving On from “Failure”

Three days ago was day 6 of my 31 day Yoga challenge. I am working through the YouTube videos at Yoga with Adriene. I was in a good rhythm, getting my yoga on each day….then came day 6. I woke up in a great mood! I felt pretty good. I felt like I could get things done. Oh boy..the house was going to get clean….and then Nick asks, “When are you going to the grocery store?” I replied, whenever he decided I needed to go. I feel great, I’m not worrying about it.

Then…There’s a Christmas Parade, we find out, later that night…. Cue the horror music. Not at the parade, but the fact that I still have to make a meal list, then the grocery list, drive all the way to Conway…I save more money if I go to two different stores…and I have to be back by 4:45pm to make sure I’m not blocked out. Thankfully, the grocery list process went smoothly…Which is surprising since I could take two days to make a perfect list.

I’m rushing…I had to get gas. I didn’t think I could make it back in time! It was 2:30 and the store is about 45 minutes away! Traffic is awful in the big town near by! So…what did I do? Actually…it’s surprising how yoga can help you in real life situations.

I was trying to breathe long and deep. I tried to “soften the skin of the face” and “relax the jaw.” I know when I’m very tense and anxious, like when driving, my neck and shoulders get very tense. Like Adriene says, we get in that “Mr. Burns” pose. So I tried to remain mindful of keeping my chest open, shoulders back, and head over heart, heart over pelvis…as best I could in a car. I tried to move my neck a little back and forth. Just enough to ease tension, but always keeping my eyes on the road. I think this helped my stress levels and I eventually decided to go ahead, bite the bullet and extra $25 bucks I had to spend at one store (Luckily I saved that much with coupons too.) I safely raced home (driving the speed limit most of the way….I promise!).

Thankfully, we made it home in time! Mainly because…they were running behind. The kids grabbed their coats (because it was super cold) and ran down to nana’s house to wait.

kiddos waiting on a parade

Nana eventually came outside all bundled up and sat on the tailgate with the kids. Madison had the most beautiful princess wave, and I think she’ll be a great parade princess some day! It was actually a good time even though it was beyond freezing outside.

We made it home, kids went to bed. Nick and I watched American Horror Story. Then…I went to bed. Notice anything missing? Yep…I didn’t do a yoga video. Which brings me to the point of my post.

Yes…I missed a day on my 31 day challenge. But, too often I see people beating themselves into a million pieces. Crying and carrying on about each little pothole in the road of the journey. This is the beauty of life, not a wall with a sign saying, You Shall Not Pass! If life was easy, anyone could pull it off. The truth of the matter is that life is work. There are so many twists and turns (PLOT TWIST!) that you truly never know where you’ll end up.

My only point being. Don’t let one slip derail your progress. Don’t quit. Never give up. Never surrender. Have courage to keep going. Hell…maybe it’s because I survived a tornado that literally destroyed everything but my life. Silly things like forgetting one day of yoga seem trivial in the grand scope of my perception.

So, my invitation is for you to decide. Which path will you take my friend? You’re always welcome to come along with me for my adventure!

And on that note…I’ll be working on the page to freshen it up a bit. If it looks a little different, don’t freak out. Just trying to make sure it is readable, and that you guys can find what you need. I do a few other blogs. You can find me all over the place. Twitter, Instagram, Facebook and I’ll try to get you links to all.

I’m also considering doing a fundraiser for the local area affected by the April tornado. I’m wanting to raise money for the families affected to be able to have a weather radio and maybe supplies, for the storm shelter, and spreading weather awareness. It’s another thing that I’m very passionate about. You’ll see come spring time. Of course, if I get the network and support that I need to go through with it, I’ll let y’all know in case some of you lovely readers would like to help out.

So that’s it. Enough rambling and blog writing therapy. Have a wonderful week everyone! ❤

Peace and Love. -Ami

Leave a Reply

